Since Procedures are a group of Versions, there is an established workflow from creating to releasing to archiving and replacing with a new Version. The diagram below illustrates the status available to each of the three main models.
Only when Procedure has status of Draft or Active can Versions for that Procedure be created and managed.
When you create a Version for a Procedure, the default status for the version is Draft. In this status, the Version can be created and updated. Once the version is ready, click the button to Submit for Approval.
When the Version has been submitted for approval, its status is Pending. When the version is Pending, another user with access can review the version. The version can then be approved or rejected using the Approve or Reject buttons. When a Version is approved, its status becomes Approved. If the Version is rejected, then the Version goes back into the status of Draft.
Once the Version is approved, its status becomes Approved. This is a place where the Version waits until it is ready to be released. You may not want to Activate an approved version immediately because you may need to train your team on the updates to the procedure. Until you are able to train your team, you likely will want to them use the currently released version.
When you are ready to release the new versions of the procedure, click the Activate button.
Once a Version is released, its status becomes Active. There can only be one Version with status of Active for a Procedure. And Instances can only be run when on the Active version of a Procedure.
Since this Version is Active, Instances can be run. The screen capture below shows how two Instances have been run for this version.
Once you have more than one Version of a Procedure, the current Active version of the Procedure will become Archived.
Learn how to Create a New Version.
Below illustrates how a Procedure has two Versions. The Version that is Active can have Instances with the status of Running while the Version that is only Approved can not as it is waiting to be released.
Once Version 1.1 is Activated and becomes Active, then Version 1.0 will become Archived.
Below demonstrates how the first version 1.0 became Archived and the new version 1.1 becomes Active. The Version that is Active can run Instances while the Version that is now archived can no longer run Instances.
When an Instance is going to be run for the Procedure, now it uses the current Version that is Active which is 1.1.
Since Instances can only be Run using the Version that is Active, when viewing a Procedure all the Instances are listed. The Version used to Run an Instance is associated and display when viewing a specific Instance.